about tamilnadu - tngovcoin

About Tamil Nadu State – TN.GOV.IN

About Tamil Nadu State – TN.GOV.IN


about tamilnadu - tngovcoin

Hon’ble Thiru CH. Vidyasagar Rao, the Acting Governor of Tamil Nadu is the Constitutional Head of the state.
Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Thiru Edappadi K. Palaniswami is the Head of the elected Government and heads the Council of Ministers.


Hon’ble Chief Justice, Madras High Court is the Head of Judiciary.

Tamil Nadu State has a population of 7,21,47,030 as per Census 2011 and covers an area of 1,30,058 sq.km Chennai (formerly known as Madras) is the State Headquarters. The administrative units of the State are:


District Statistics 32

Revenue Divisions 82

Taluks 285

Firkas 1,349

Revenue Villages 17,680

Municipal Corporations 10

Municipalities 125

Panchayat Unions (Blocks) 385

Town Panchayats 561

Village Panchayats 12,618

Lok Sabha Constituencies 39

Assembly Constituencies 234